High, High Peach Apple Pie

Pies don’t take to much to adjust to high altitude, but bakers above 10,000 ft. will probably at some point be frustrated by burnt crusts, fruit fillings that don’t soften or gel, or (my favorite high altitude pie disaster) pecan pies that boil over like giddy volcanoes.

I love pies, especially fruit pies.  And today, in good American fashion, I took a pie to my next-door neighbor.

I was trying to make peace with said neighbor after pounding on their door at 2 in the morning in my fuzzy bathrobe with glaring red hearts on it and yelling at her and her family and their 100 plus party guests to turn their music down so my daughter could sleep.  I wasn’t sorry for telling them to turn their music down (and they later apologized profusely, after a few days of sleeping off their hangovers), but I was sorry that I hadn’t yelled at them in a nicer manner.

Yes, really.

Thus, this pie:

Pea

High, High Peach Apple Pie

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup thinly sliced apples
  • 1 cup sliced hard peaches
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Mix flour, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

IMG_4630

In a separate bowl, combine sugar, egg, and vanilla.  Mix all of this into apples and peaches.

IMG_4625

A note on apples: at sea level, the best baking apples are hard apples such as Granny Smiths.  But at altitude, it takes longer for hard fruit to soften.  So I would either use a soft apple, like Golden Delicious, or if you love the taste of Granny Smiths like I do, soften them in a frying pan with a bit of butter before adding them to the peaches.

IMG_4618

Pour the mixture into a baked pie shell and bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees (175 Celcuis).

IMG_4633

In the case of my neighbor, this pie can be served in a delightful combination with my least favorite confection–humble pie.

IMG_4637

Leave a Reply

